Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Reformed Ricer
07 STI, 07 STI, 10 Forester, 03 WRX
4,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
alright, with my budget being tight right now and me always trying to find something else to do to my car, i have decided to punch the cat. its semi-legal here, and i kinda dig the tone. but the problem is, all the bolts and even the entire flange is just rusted to shit. now im working with hand-me-down hand tools and trying to do this after work (like 2 in the morning) and its just not coming off. so... how the hell am i to do this? help would be greatly, greatly appreciated.

by the way, i am new to the RS scene, and new to the site here, and this is great. i have received more help here in the past two days than i have anywhere else. thank you all.

·
Registered
'06 LGT
8,334 Posts
PB Blaster

And as a last result a Grinder will do wonders, if you don't have one, I suggest you purchase one or even a dremel.

Make sure you wear eye glasses and you should be good to go.

I would also suggest picking up new gaskets for when you go to reinstall, aswell as a few new bolts. The dealer is the only one in which you can get the spring bolts for where the cat bolts up to the midpipe. And they are rather expensive so I would suggest you be careful with these.

·
Reformed Ricer
4,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks, and actually i have been using a dremel. about how much are the spring bolts, if you could take a guess?

·
Registered
'06 LGT
8,334 Posts
I don't know 10-20 bucks.

·
Reformed Ricer
4,575 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
yeah that is a little up there... manageable though... anything else i should look out for before i do this?

·
Registered
95/99 Brighton STi
2,945 Posts
+1 for dremel tool! as for the price of spring bolts, I couldn't tell ya but you might get lucky at a salvage yard.

oh, make sure to buy stainless steel hardware..definitely a must.

you're punching out the rear cat right?

·