Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a 2001 impreza with almost 30k miles. i am goingto change the gear oil at 30k and was wondering what kind to use. i dont want to shorten the life of anything as i do a lot of driving. i do a little under 1k miles a week. the driving i do is mostly in town on roads that are 40mph. i do some highway and some slow roads. i do a moderate amount of shifting in my drive. any help would be great. thanks

also, what else should i change at 30k
i use mobil 1 synthetic every 3k miles, my manual says to change it every 7500 miles, am i going overboard? it seems like it needs one every 3k, subarus are oil hogs has been my experience

·
Registered
3 Posts
while i'm not a scooby expert... Redline fluids are one of those products I fully stand behind. If you know anything about VW's, you'd know that since 1985 the 2nd gear in 5speeds always developes a grind. Redline MTL takes it away (if it's not too far gone). I switched to MTL at 110K, where I'd grind almost every time, and now even at 169K it's a rarity to crunch 2nd.

·
Registered
410 Posts
I've been using Motul Gear 300 for like 25k miles now (since about 15k) and it works great. (Plus, Motul is what the Subaru WRC cars use.)

DON'T use the Mobil 1 Gear Oil that you find at auto parts store or automotive departments. It works great in the rear diff, but it's too slick for the tranny.

Peaty has posted several times that Redline Shockproof Lightweight works well.

Supposedly the "official" Subaru gear oil that the dealers use is synthetic, too (from what I've read).

·
Registered
410 Posts
ampsarus said:
The Mobil 1 GL5 gear oil is like 85w-90...what do you mean "too slick"? :confused:

Thanks