Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
313 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello pros,
I am a beginner to auto x. Not to Subys or knowing how to drive it:biggest:
So I have Tein Coils overs , Street tires, Sparco seats non reclinable, cat back exhaust , cluctch and flyhweel, SO where do i stand??

Trhanks
Richie

·
Registered
91 Posts
what about this stuff?

flywheel, intake, bonnet, short shifter, all of these are modifications that would take you out of stock. I think the flywheel takes you out of STS....

As a registrar for the philly region scca, I'm often amazed what some people consider "stock".

FYI, for anybody that doesn't know what class you're in, make sure you tell us ALL of the mods... even if you think they don't matter.... because they DO MATTER.... :)

·
Registered
190 Posts
Okay, I ran an autocross over the weekend. When asked what class I told them STS. They said okay, I was being honest but now after a little searching I don't know what class I should have been in. Here are my mods:

2002 2.5RS with,

Ganzflo intake
Amsoil drop in Air Filter
20mm rear sway bar
N1 Lightweight Pulleys

Everything says STS but the pulleys, but I can't find out by changing them what class I get thrown into.

Any help would be appreciated. All in all, I won't be a threat to anyone because I suck as a driver. :)

·
Registered
410 Posts
Imprezawd: Only your catback and tires are legal in Stock. The flywheel, clutch and seat all kick you from STS (seat must be reclining in STS). The seat is probably STX legal but you still can't do a flywheel or clutch there, so DSP is the lowest class you can run in.

Cone Eater: Pulleys can be replaced in STS IF the crank pulley is not also a "damper". The ruling is based on the service manual description and the Subaru service manual only calls them pulleys so you are fine. Neons cannot use UD pulleys in STS because their service manual calls it a pulley/damper assembly (or something like that).