Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
1993, L AWD, Aegean blue :)
389 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey i just picked up a 96 AWD 2.2L L model 5spd this past weekend.. Well there were some things wrong with it. First of all, 2nd gear seems to grind or its hard to get into sometimes, i heard that it might just be a synchro ring. Is there anything i can do? im not really experienced but yeah im willing to do stuff on my own. Second my passenger side CV boot is ripped and looks like it might have been for a while...so how hard are axles to replace?? will i need to do the front two or just ones fine??

thanks for any info

-jimmy

· Registered
95/99 Brighton STi
3,696 Posts
cv axles are somewhat simple and replacing one is fine. good diy thread on changind one out. as for second gear grinding, you can't really do much. a fluid change is about the only thing you can do to help short of getting another tranny.

· Registered
2001 RS 2.5
668 Posts
Axel is simple as this..

Remove center cap and try and break axle nut. Un-dent it against the lock with a screwdriver or tap. (if you are me you let the impact un-dent the nut)
Remove wheel
Remove 2 bolts from brake bracket
Remove both strut bolts (mark bottom one for position as controls your camber)
You may have to remove the long bolt holding the hub on... In the front I think you have to.
punch out axel pin (axle should slide out of trans side)
Axle should slide out of trans <- i am drunk
use hammer on other side of axel connected to hub (may needed to removed long bolt connecting hub to arm if not out of trans)

fix

reverse

disclaimer: im drunk.

Done

If you fix your boot (recommended) I think there is a diy for that.