Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey Guys, first post here.

I'm about to acquire my first subaru, a 2001 2.5 RS.

However, I'm also new to Import tuners. I've tuned a BMW and American Muscle before, but never this type of thing.

So I really need some help.

I have a budget of 5k for mods, and I dont want to do anything exterior. The car needs to be good in the winter, so no 500HP drag setups are necessary.

I don't know what company's make quality stuff for Suby's, so thats why I cam here to the experts.

What I wanted to do

Strut bars
Sway bars
Coilovers
Intake
Anti Lift kit
Grounding and Electrical optimization
Headers/Full TBE?
Quickshifter
Lightened Flywheel

So here's my issue, I dont know if that is

A) even worth doing to a RS

B) will give me the results I'm looking for in an overall better performance car

C) who makes the best of these for a RS.

I understand How annoying these posts are, I saw a lot of them on the camaro and BMW forums, but I'm truly lost right now, and any help getting me setup would be awesome of you.

Cheers,
Phill

Edit: Cliff Notes Version. I'm looking to turn the RS into a machine that handles on rails, is still fine during the winter, and has a little more power then stock, don't need 800HP, but a few extra wouldn't be unwanted.

·
Katy Perry
2001 Outback Sport-Turbo
3,671 Posts
Suspension is they way to go. Struts/springs can be had for <$550 Agx/P1 combo FTW.
You can get an OEM 20mm RSB cheap.
I just put the Perrin Anti-lift kit on my car. It is awesome. The Whiteline version is cheaper.
TBE? Is your car swapped? If not then getting some Borla knock off headers off of ebay and a CBE off of this site can be had at a good price. I have a Magnaflow and I love it.

Kartboy makes a Short Throw shifter for 120 shipped with bushings.

Hope this helps. Ask any other questions you have.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·