Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
'00 2.5 RS
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all.

I'm a newb to this site, but just read through a bunch of the posts on turbo/SC kits... here's my twist on the issue.

The lease on my '00 RS will be running out in about 9 months and I'm trying to decide if I should pay off the residual, and add on a turbo/SC kit, or if I should return my RS and get a WRX.

As far as I can tell, keeping my RS has the following benefits:

1) It's an RS... I got it b/c it is great and wasn't all that well known... while everyone seems to have a WRX nowadays. (No offense to WRX owners, I just like slightly more obscure stuff.)

2) From the end of my lease, it will be cheaper to pay off my RS and mod it, than to buy a WRX.

3) I will hopefully learn a lot more about my car through the process of having it "turboed" (which is something I'm really interested in) than by just buying the WRX.

Getting a WRX seems to have the following benefits:

1) Much less chance of destroying something important and expensive since the turbo comes stock from Subaru.

2) I won't have to worry that I know next to nothing about working on cars b/c if something goes wrong I can bring it to a Subaru dealer and get them to fix it, as opposed to trying to fix (or find someone to fix) whatever might go wrong with a modded RS.

I would greatly appreciate any feedback, suggestions or advice from all you folks who obviously know a lot more about all this than I do.

Thanks much!!

·
Registered
613 Posts
tough call. sounds like you have thought it out. i'd pencil it out to see exactly where the money is different. as far as mods dollar for dollar, the same amount of money would be more potent to add to the rex....pp.s. welcome aboard! drinks on you!

·
Registered
'00 2.5 RS
233 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks. "bartender, next round's on me!" <cheers from the crowd>