Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

What's wrong with it

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Subaru Impreza outback sport 2.2l NA down and broken at the moment.
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

New to the site, been poking around for a few weeks. This is my first post so if it's not in the correct place, please inform me. I picked up a 97 Impreza wagon as a project car. Before I ask, here's a little background on me. I've been a VW dealer technician for the past 10 years and before that I've always messed with anything mechanical i could get my hands on to learn, so I'm loaded with tools and knowledge I've earned over the years. My first car was a 94 Impreza sedan I bought when I was 14 for 600 bucks. I drove that car for 10 years and loved every second of it, Other than the cold winters and hot summers but that builds character lol. I can remember having my first gf help me sand primmer off the car, and my following gf helping me push the car out of a parking spot on our first date because the shifter bushings decided to fail, and I couldn't hit reverse (The good ol day's). So now that that's over, When I picked up the 97 wagon, I knew it wouldn't move under its own power (somethings was wrong with the transmission or clutch assembly) and I have yet to drop the trans. Before I do, I wanted to get some input from the group and see if we can come up with a roundabout conclusion, so I can get some parts before I drop it (it can't take up a lift while I wait for more parts kind of thing unless i want to put the trans back in and push the car out) The shift linkage is okay, it feels to shift into all the gears without regards to the engine being off, engine running, clutch pressed in or disengage) and that made me thing, crap the input shaft is broken on the transmission. But I'm not sure if that's a common thing (seems unlikely but you guys would now better) Any other thought?

·
Registered
215 Posts