Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Allright boys and girls, I'm new to this autocrossing thing and I am told by just about everyone that new tires is the quickest way to better times, especially since I'm running on some pretty sucky Firehawk SH30's right now. Couple questions:
1) I'm interested in Azenis, but I don't wanna pay the price of getting a set of new wheels to put them on. Is it concievable to strap a set of them on for the Auto-X season, and then put my all seasons back on in the winter?
2) If I did that, would my all-seasons dry rot over the summer? How could I prevent that??
3) I'm assuming those Azenis are not gonna last me more than one summer, Am I right???
4) Finally, If this plan is not doable, and I need to get a new set of wheels.....THey gotta be cheap, so does anyone know where I can possibly get a set of used subaru 16's????

Thanks a bunch
Dave

·
Premium Member
233 Posts
1. I haven't used the Azenis but from what I have heard the are awesome.

2. You shouldnt have any problems with the tires. Try to keep them stored like in a basement or garage.

3. I don't know, sorry

4. Check the private classifieds here. And probably easier check i-club private class ifieds for WRX wheels.

:sunny:

·
Registered
2000 Blue Ridge Pearl Subaru I
294 Posts
Extra set of wheels? Check your local junk yard for late 80's-early 90's Dodge(Chrysler) wheels. $5-10 in good condition. You can get 15" or 16". Offset is just fine. A local guy here (Storm) runs them on his car and they work fine.

·
Registered
3,614 Posts