Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS
43 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This will be my build thread for my 2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS. I plan on turning it into a budget ice racer/rally car. The thread will consist of the car's restoration and modifications. I'm very new to cars and hope to leave some knowledge behind as I learn things/figure things out. I'll also be needing lots of help, but thanks to this website and amazing community I'm off to a great start!

The car sitting at the sellers property. It sat here like this for around 2 years.
$_59 (1).jpg

The car after I had just begun work on it, the gold grill was taken off, and the vents/scoop were sanded.
$_59.jpg

Subie.jpg

Rip rear rotors, I'll get to you later.
IMG-3071.JPG
IMG-3075.JPG

The engine bay, looks like the seller even got in here with that stupid gold paint... This is after I sanded the gold paint off of the belt covers at the bottom of the image, you can still see some gold around the edges though...
IMG-3344.jpg

The car running with a bad coil distributer, I didn't know this at the time of the recording. I took it to help diagnose the issue.

Fixing the messed up wiring in the center console. Also had to add an adapter harness to make the deck work with the stock Subaru plugins... Seller took his out for some reason. Also fixed the cigarette lighter while I was at it. It seems like I'm going to have to fix everything the previous owner has worked on. He left a trail of incompetence behind in his work. Loose/missing screws and lazily fixed issues are just the start of what he did.