Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Outback Wagon/Legacy
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm buying what I think is an EJ253 block/heads to put into my 02' Outback as it has bad threads for the head bolts, and it' was an ej22 w/ ej251 heads anyhow.

The ej253 is out of a 2005 Impreza.

I plan to use my heads as they will be fresh out of the machine shop anyhow, and use 6 star MLS gaskets to match the ej251 heads, along with subaru oem gaskets elsewhere.

I hope to use(looking for opinions) an ebay timing/pump kit using a gmb brand water pump along with all the needed seals and tensioner/idlers. In my mind, I should be fine using all 2002 parts since all I'm using is the newer short block. I'll be using my stock 02' intake as well to avoid any ecu/sensor troubles.

I'm asking if I need to look out for anything, and if this looks to be all in order. I'm not a subie expert by any stretch, I didnt even know 2.5L heads would bolt up and run in the ej22 until I found out thats what someone had done to my car, along with using junk gaskets, a cut off bolt, and improper torque technique......

Also, can I use the ej253 heads if my ej251's turn out to be toast along with my stock instake? The ej253 is out of an 05' no so variable valvle timing or anything like that.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
1995 Red Bomber Impreza
2,228 Posts
Should be no problem with either options.

I just ised a short block out of a 99 rs for my 03 baja.

But i reused my heads because on the drivers side there was and egr valve. (I think thats what its called. Metal pipe connecting the head to the intake.)

I also reused my crank and cam sprockets.

My suggestions are do what i did. I crossed refrenced gaskets to the two years to see if they matched. If they did the parts should interchange.

·
Premium Member
1995 Red Bomber Impreza
2,228 Posts
Also to add to make this simple. Use the timing pieces for wjat car its going in.