Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1999 Impreza 2.5rs.
533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 1999 2.5rs. It has (forgive me if I get some specs wrong, I am somewhat new to Subaru engines) a 2.5 litre engine. Would boosting that engine not yield more power than swaping for a 2.0 litre WRX engine? I am leaning towards boosting because I am not really setup to remove and engine and replace it! Plus Ive never done that before!

·
RIP 08.24.2013
01 legacy L
8,015 Posts
Adding a turbo would yield like 50hp, if tuned right that might last you a while with stock internals.

An engine swap would yield about 100hp and be as reliable as that engine is in its factory body. Engine swap HP per dollar is cheaper.

·
Registered
opendeck251+stiInternals
483 Posts
To set your current motor up for boost you *should* put in new pistons. 10:1 compression ratio is a little high for boost, IMO, but people do it.

There is an engine swap FAQ and a host of other threads centered around this very idea, and is very well documented.

If you plan on modifying your car's engine, an engine stand and some sort of device to lift an engine out of the engine bay are 2 worthwhile investments.

~Josh~

·
Registered
99 rustbox
1,042 Posts
i think adding a turbo would be much more difficult for a person with not so much mechanical skill. Myself included in that bunch of down-syndrome crew ;). engine swap would be more logical...

it is a 2.5L it says it IN THE NAME

·
Premium Member
05 RS
2,596 Posts
if you turbo your motor you will be at swapped hp, just look at everyone that has done it

the good thing about swaps is you have more room for hp, and you dont need engine management

also dont listen to people that say turboing a na motor is a waste, you just have to prep the motor and you will be good, theres a post here where a guy made over 400hp on a ej25d lol

·
Registered
2000 2.5 RS-T srp sedan
2,732 Posts