1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi All,

I hope you are having a nice day!

My Background:
So this is going to be the start of my 1999 2.5RS build. I have been in the Subaru game for 10 years now, and built a couple cars. I am no expert with Subaru's, or car's for that matter. However! fear not... I want to learn, and grow. So here is what I have done. My first major project was building a 2013 WRX (mistake, should have bought an STi) into an STi. I blew the engine 18k miles into the car's life and decided that I would build it, and for go the warranty long block Subaru wanted to put into it. I had it build by a recommended shop and got it back as a long block void of everything else. I installed all the peripherals and got the car back on the road. Between the mods and E85, it was putting out somewhere around 400 WHP. Too much for a 5 speed. So I quickly sourced a nice 6 speed from Ebay. I installed that and absolutely loved the new gear ratios and more flexibility in how I wanted to drive the car.

The second project... Well, was my first ground up build. I stripped a 2001 2.5RS and built it into a full blown STi, Engine, trans, brembo brakes. I had the engine built by another recommended shop, and went bigger with everything. It had a full suspension under it, Fortune Auto Coils, Whiteline everything... This car was a ton of fun... however, it did not last long...The car was in an accident with a Corvette, that ended up bending the back half of the car up pretty bad.

I decided to abandon that body and source another one... and that will bring you to current day. Here is my 1999 2.5RS... It has a bright future. I plan on switching all the old parts I could salvage onto the new car.

Plans for this Build:

Engine:

Source + build EJ207 (high rev setup) / Re-use EJ257 (less likely)
Clean transmission case & Paint
Reuse Mods from last car (pictured below)
Front Mount Intercooler (TMIC before)
Need to pick a Turbo