Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
93 WRX with OEM+ mods
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Journal for my imported 1993 Impreza WRX (12/92 build).

Goal for this car has been to build an OEM+, "period correct", GrA style car with only authentic parts if possible.

I bought my car at auction in Japan in June 2017. I've been importing parts for a couple years so I had the necessary connections to do the work myself for the most part. The car landed in December 2017, complete with a number of issues I was fully expecting:
1. A number of paint issues
2. An idle issue and hesitation
3. Seriously bad tires

I quickly found the issue with the idle and hesitation was an unplugged MAF, and the tires were swapped out with a set of wheels/tires I had waiting for the car when it arrived.

[I'll try and come back and add more story but for now I'm going to skip to the mod list and photos]

Modifications:
HKS Intake
HKS EVC
HKS BOV
Subaru 4 pot front brakes (calipers, rotors, ss lines)
Bilstein coilovers
Tecnomagnesio 201b 17x7+52 magnesium alloy wheels
l'Aunsport P555 WRC exhaust
Subaru OEM optional aero mirrors
STi Pink link set

Auction pics:

Headed to the port:

With my son, collecting the car from the port in Tacoma, WA:

First light autocrossing:

Photoshoot in the mountains:

Did some night shots before the Alaskan Way Viaduct was shut down in Seattle:

More to come soon...

Attachments

·
Registered
'96 OBS
239 Posts
That looks great! I'm super jealous of the tiger stripes. Planning to do auto-x this season? I did one up in BC last year, but never went to any in the WA area.

·
Registered
93 WRX with OEM+ mods
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Just got some photos back from Dan Piker so I thought I'd share them here.

·
Registered
93 WRX with OEM+ mods
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #8