Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2001 2.5RS
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all RS members. My names Kevin Im a technician and a new member trying to seek some direction. heres the case:

Bought a 2001 2.5 RS for 900$ has 220k. The car was bought with an over heating problem which I just want to Fix to drive.. until i have everything i need to swap my fully build ej23 (bored and stroke) motor in.

So far I have noticed the car seems to maintain a proper temp level at idle..
after about 5 minutes or so of driving it starts to steadily climb. Both the thermostat and radiator have been replaced(by previous owner) I actually replacement the thermostat again just to make sure..seems like the system would not bleed properly and there would be some bubbles when running it without the radiator cap..nothing crazy though... I suspected a faulty water pump.. removed it and found it to be in good condition.. inspected the spark plugs they appear to be good..not completely white and dont smell of coolant.. also the exhaust doesnt smell of coolant either.. after i spent a day in the cold doing this work i noticed a large piece of plastic in my bucket that didnt appear to be there until after i removed the water pump... Maybe this was causing blockage and not allowing the system to bleed properly? Also no visable external leaks in the head gasket area on either side.. Maybe just reassembly will tell? Any input would be appreciated guys!!!! Thanks for reading.

·
Registered
2003 BRP 2.5 RS, 2005 Camo 20K
82 Posts
Did you fully purge all air bubble out of coolant?
How many miles on headgasket?
What thermostat did you replace with?
How does your coolant look in overflow? Is the level high? is it milky brown? bubbles in coolant?
Any hot spots in radiator?
Did you use that crap Subaru conditioner?

·
Registered
1998 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS
1,471 Posts
Also is your main fan kicking on properly when you get up to temperature?

·