Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
Company Car
1,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings everyone!

Im new to the Subie world, former Nissan enthusiast. I just bought a 97 Impreza OBS :) I have done some research as to OEM WRX exhaust fitting on GC/GF Imprezas with modification to the flanges. I will be getting a OEM WRX catback for a good deal to replace my stock 97 OBS exhaust.

For those that have done it or have knowledge it, is there anything else I need to know about using the OEM WRX exhaust??

I have my local exhaust shop that would be able to get the OEM WRX catback flange to mate with my stock catalytic converter.

Thanks

Jimmy

·
mix and match..:)
MY99 GF4 Ver6 Re-creation
840 Posts
Well some more pics for you..:)...Exhaust time this time around...
have a Stock STi Midpipe and STi "community" Genome Muffler..;)
I like it...it not obtrusive...decent sounding at WOT...and the car definitely peppier..:)

Before the install

Old Exhaust....yucky...;)

Partially intstalled...

·
Premium Member
Company Car
1,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Thanks for the replies everyone!

Looks like an easy swap. I just hope with the stock 2.2 N/A with the wrx cat back doesn't sound bad. I'd like the deep tone of these motors. Not too loud though. I got plans for a swap in the next year and don' t want to draw attention noise wise with the exhaust swap. :)

I couldn't find any WRX cat back swaps, but I think I have an idea of how the exhaust will sound.

Thanks again everyone!

Jimmy

·
Registered
FX45, 2008
1,274 Posts
Yes sir, make sure to let us know how it comes out with sound/video clips :) Got any pics of the waggy yet?

·
Premium Member
Company Car
1,875 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
I hope to have an video clip I can add to the collection here by next Friday. :)

And by then, I'll have suspension, new headlights and tails, and maybe tint. :) I'll post pics up after that.