Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys! I am new to this and wanted to hear your opinions. I have a '05 Impreza 2.5RS Wagon. I have noise when my front wheels get in contact with bumps, and only sometimes when I brake hard over uneven surface, the noise sounds like something is clicking in place (just once), rather dull sound, metal on metal kind. I can't really say exactly where noise is coming from though, but it sounds like from maybe brakes?, arms or suspension?, basically front wheels area. Sometime I feel it sounds more on the right side. Please help.

Thanks!

p.s. I will take it to mechanic, but wanted to hear your opinion.

·
I kill threads!
2000 Ver 6 STI - 1996 Gravel Express
3,749 Posts
Pop the hood, tighten the strut bolts (3 per side), see if it goes away.

Jack up the car, grab the sides of the tire and see if it wiggles at all. It shouldn't wiggle at all. Check the other side, do the same. This is checking to see if the wheel bearings are going bad.

Look under the car and check the tie rods, ball joints, and axle. Make sure the boots are still good.

·
Registered
'04 PSM WRX Premium
8,339 Posts
Also DO NOT over tighten those bolts he pointed out. They snap rather easily. 15lbs is all they need. That's like very little with a hand wrench if you don't have a torque wrench.

Check the bigger one in the middle around those three. It's under a dust cap.. just flip it off. I had this happen on my old '95 when I had a shop install the struts and springs. Previous owner I bought them off of loosened that bolt and it sounded bad! Fixed in like 2 seconds by the shop.

... this was before I knew anything about cars, ha.

·
I kill threads!
3,749 Posts
Thanks cmiovino. Guess I should mention that about those strut bolts from now on, so no one ends up snapping them.

·
Registered
2005 Impreza 2.5RS
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #6