Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
New to the forum in the sense I signed up for an account. I have been browsing since 1999 though. I have read a lot as of late. I am looking to step up with a car. Currently have a ford Taurus but I need a 2000-2001 Subaru 2.5RS no questions asked. Three of my buddies had them back in 2001. One had a champagne red 2dr 2000. Other a 4dr blue 2001. The other a black 2000 2dr. All my friends had one and I could never afford it, and it sucked haha. The saddest part is each one of them wrecked them. Anything from near fatal to hitting a curb sideways. I'm 25 now and capable of buying this car and respecting what it can do and what it can't. I am more of the cruiser type. I just like to cruise knowing I have a little bit of power underneath the hood when I want.

Anyways my questions are general. I would be financing this car for a short time and am currently covered with Allstate. Is anyone here covered with Allstate and if so how much are you paying a month for your scoobie? Did they make you get full coverage due to financing?

Should I just wait it out until I find the perfect 2000-2001? Is there a certain mileage on the car you want to look for, 75k? Obviously the lower the better at times, but is there a mileage you do not want to go over when purchasing?

I am stuck on whether to get an automatic tranny or manual. I know most will say manual but like I said I would just cruise and I know if I had a manual I would probably end up getting a little crazy from time to time. I feel with an automatic I would be more reserved.

If a tranny breaks is a manual or automatic more expensive to fix? How much are transmission for these cars rebuilt?

Gas does it need to be a higher grade? I can't remember. Regular unleaded doesn't cut it right? From memory I believe regular was fine but is a higher grade better?

Thanks for reading.
-Matthew

· Registered