Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
oh1 4bangr
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I Changed the shocks on my 01 sedan RS and I unbolted the brake line from the hub to get the line out of the shock and replaced it and everything and now the brake pedal just goes straight to the floor... after a few pumps the brakes finally catch. I have flushed the brake fluid and bled the system like 20 times without any luck or progress.... what should i do???

·
Registered
2000 2.5RS, Sedona Red
41 Posts
Well, Im no brake expert but generally the answer to this question is "Bench bleed the master cylinder".

I always like to ask how you bled the brakes. One person or two? Bleeder bottle? What order? etc...

·
Registered
oh1 4bangr
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
How do you bench bleed the master cylinder?

I found a DIY on here and scooby mods and did it following that, FP RD FD RP, two people, a million pumps, car off. No improvements...

·
Registered
2000 2.5 RS Impreza 4 door
3,408 Posts
Shouldnt need to bench bleed because thats when you are putting a new master cylinder in. Did you perhaps forget to refill the resevior with fluid while bleeding? All the bleeding valves are pointing up? Theres got to be air in the system, maybe make sure you are bleeding the corrrect way (valve closed, pump then hold, valve open, let air/fluid out, then close valve again while the pedal is held the whole time).

If all else fails a shop could probably correct the problem.

·
Registered
oh1 4bangr
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
yeah that's how we're doing it. But no air or fluid comes out of the valves... I think it's a lot of air too but I don't know what another way to get it out is because i've been bleeding them so many times...

·
Registered
2000 2.5RS, Sedona Red
41 Posts