Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have been working thru a budget build for a 2000 RS2.5. From the beginning, the goal was to do as much of the build as a DIY project, having successfully completed full EJ25 rebuilds on a few other personal vehicles.

The donor engine is a stock 2.5 that spun a crank and connecting rod bearing. That's where the journey begins. (Pics are a bit out of order)

Factory pistons: factory coating gone and some serious skirt wear
Camera accessory Camera lens Lens Cameras & optics Composite material

Heads fully decked and assembled, prior to porting
Photograph White Light Black Automotive tire

After assembly, I decided to dive in for some porting/polishing
Tire Wheel Automotive tire Bicycle part Rim

crank assembly
Wood Gas Tool Pattern Gun accessory

FelPro MLS gaskets
Audio equipment Personal protective equipment Font Electric blue Space

Heads decked
Motor vehicle Automotive tire Rim Vehicle Automotive design

Rim Fixture Metal Auto part Automotive tire

pistons after cleanup, bead blasting and Cerakote Microslick bake on coating
Camera accessory Camera lens Cameras & optics Lens Teleconverter

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I was under the impression the FelPro gaskets were decent. I have used them on a handful of builds w/o issues, but all have been stock low budget rebuilds. If there a better recommendation for MLS gaskets, I'm open.

·
Premium Member
95 L, 96 OUTBACK
2,926 Posts
If it was me I would have smoothed out the combustion chamber and had a 3 angle valve job done. I know the valve job would be a little more money but a good value as that helps flow a lot on the stock sized valves.

I dont know what transmission you have but a light weight flywheel is a must. Any time I replace a clutch I just put one in I like it so much. Makes driving more fun that is for sure.