Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
none yet
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Noob here. been a gearhead for near 50 years. my first scoob was a 77 wagon. been thru a few since. my wife's grandson is just permit age and wants a 98 wrx clone. found a couple of 95 to 97 coupes look like decent starting points. how much doing is removing the auto trans setup and replacing with clutch? and what year donor car would work best. I know. if you have a welder and a hammer you could get a 454 chebby in there. doesnt mean it is a good idea.

·
Registered
2001 Impreza 2.5RS+T 2001 Subaru Legacy GT
1,220 Posts
Subaru's are by far the very best lego car you could ever get, next to a Nissan. Parts essentially bolt and plug in. iwire sells kits to convert the auto harness to a manual.

·
Registered
none yet
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
good to know. looks like very little traffic on this forum. are there any better ones for this car?

·
Registered
2001 Impreza 2.5RS+T 2001 Subaru Legacy GT
1,220 Posts
All the information you will need is here. This is the only forum for the 93-01 Impreza as far as I know.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Noob here. been a gearhead for near 50 years. my first scoob was a 77 wagon. been thru a few since. my wife's grandson is just permit age and wants a 98 wrx clone. found a couple of 95 to 97 coupes look like decent starting points. how much doing is removing the auto trans setup and replacing with clutch? and what year donor car would work best. I know. if you have a welder and a hammer you could get a 454 chebby in there. doesnt mean it is a good idea.

Not hard at all if you have a little experience in wrenching. I swapped my 2000 RS from an auto to manual with parts from a 2003 WRX, a few wires need to be run for the backup lights, and speed sensor. I had it done in a few days by myself using resources from this forum.

·
Registered
none yet
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6