Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just recently bought a 2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5rs. It’s the first car I have owned unless you count the junker my father let me use. I’m very new to the world of cars, and I’d like to use this car to learn. My main goals are as follows:

-Switch out the 5-speed for a 6-speed,
-Twin Turbo and NOS,
-Aim for 900 HP,

At the end of the day, I want the car to get up to speed quickly, and be able to handle the steep curves and hills, while still functioning as my day to day car.
Unfortunately, most of my research has been unfruitful. The information is either over 15 years old and potentially out of date, or just not helpful. Usually, the thread is: telling people to buy a new car (I specifically want the gen 1, so a new car is pointless to me), broken links, conflicting information, or telling people to go to older posts with the aforementioned issues.

Bottom line:
-Do I need an engine swap? From what I understand, both my car and the STi are EJ25. Could my current engine handle my goals, even if it meant more work?
- CAI? Some people say they’re great, some people say they’re more harm than good. Personally, I like the sound of a cold air intake, and standing water isn’t usually something I run into, is there something weird about Impreza’s that they have different issues with CAI than other cars? Or do people just have issues with CAI in general?
-With or without an engine swap, what else do I need to do to my engine to achieve my goals?

P.S. I’m aware it will be an expensive and time consuming project, but I’d rather spend the time and money than cutting corners and running into issues.

I also already have plans for the brakes, tires/wheels, body, suspension, etc. I mostly just need help with the engine

·
Registered
1995 EZ30 Coupe
734 Posts