Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 20 of 200 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Ok, so I always wanted a 99-01 RS coupe in SRP but could never really find or afford one for awhile. Got all my finacial shit together and purchased a pretty clean 2000 SRP coupe with a blown motor from a member. Now, being as I am in Texas, GC imprezas of any trim level are a rare sight. Doesnt snow much down here so no real need for a AWD vehicle. With that being said, paid the member and had the car transported to central Texas from Indiana.
Car had no body panel rust issues, with just surface rust under the car, and actually ran but had a pretty bad knock. Keep in mind that I am new to modding subies, but not to modding cars. I have a 600whp 2jz-gte swapped Kouki S14 and a K24/K20 swapped civic EG hatch.
Here is the car when I received it...

Dirty knocking engine......
Will be pulled out shortly...

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I will be reusing the stock SOHC heads and going with a EJ257 bottom end with 257 stock rods and aftermarket pistons. This build will be relatively mild as this car will be taking over daily driving duties from my civic. I will be using a stock VF39 USDM STi turbo. I've gathered most of the required parts I will be needing to perform the swap, including......
OEM STi Head Gaskets....

OEM STi Oil Pump

Exedy OEM replacement Clutch....

ARP head studs.....

Gates racing timing belt replacement kit...

Mishimoto Racing thermostat.....

Picked up my Hydra EMS today off a Sti guy in Austin. Still in great condition, these things go for like $2000 brand new. Got mine for 1/4 the price. Need to send it back to Hydra to reprogram it to work with a RS. The reprogram cost $150, but after that, should be good to go.

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Autometer Cobalt oil pressure and boost gauges....

Denso OEM style top feed 750cc injectors..