Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking at getting a new car and ultimately the decision has come down to getting a 2.5 RS. I was directed to this forum by my fellow fourm members over at lancerforums.com. I'm a relative noob to the 2.5RS scene, however I do know my fair share about cars in general.

My parents are requireing that the car I get has AWD. So this limits me to a few cars. I also have MAX to spend of $20K. I've looked at used Audi Quattros and Passat 4-motions, however my parents are also requiring that there be less than 40K miles on the car, so I'm pretty much set on either a new or a used 2.5 RS.

I was wondering what experiences people have had with the 2.5 RS and what year would be the best to look for if I don't buy a new one. Any information on this car would be great, as I don't know much about Scubies. Anyways, thank you for your help.

PS...I'm not some rich little kid who's mommy and daddy are buying me a car. Don't flame me for that. I'm 20, up to my neck in college loans, but I need a car, so they are helping me pay for it...due to the fact that I'm paying $40K a year for college.

·
Registered
2000 Impreza 2.5 RSTi
324 Posts
So since you got 20k to spend on an RS might as well get as new as ya can. However i would get a used RS in the older body style. SInce u got 20k i would look for either a 2000 or 2001 RS because they have the rear lsd. Also it doesn;t have an MAF that might cause u future problems down the line.

Good luck with your search

·
Registered
99 2.5 RS-T
838 Posts