Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1995 AWD Brilliant Red Subaru
723 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
After doing some searches on my own, I have only gotten more confused about engine managment for a turbo'd rs. I don't know if i want a full stand alone or a piggyback. Which is better for the "home enthusiast"? I like the link system cause i don't need a laptop(i think) because u can buy for a small price that lcd display tuner link instead of a laptop.Right? The link can change a/f, boost, knck, and ect. I also like the J&S safeguard. Altough it isn't "tunable" it does most of the work of knock control for me, since i am new at this. Also, it is drastically less then the link. I want to turbo my rs when i get it, and i only want to run 4-6 psi of boost. I also want to get the most outta the car without recking the engine or drastically reducing the engine's life span. If it doesn't seem like i can meet these goals, i guess i will stay n/a.

·
Registered
646 Posts
I know how you feel. I went down the list of methods andended up deciding on the Link2 since it will do everything I need it to. I can lose the MAF setup from my MY99 RS, it will detect knock and allow me to adjust for it, I can use it to control boost, it retains all of the stock sensors so it doesn't require new ones and uses the sensors to tune the engine, it even lists controlling water injection as a option, can alter fuel maps and its alot cheaper then a TEC2 or TEC3. Besides I'm only out to run 6psi for now. Of course I'm still adding all the usual gauges so I can keep an eye on things and the KnockLink sounds like a really good idea. Another bonus is I can keep my A/C and control the radiator fans.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Go w/ the link plus. It is cheep for what it is, it will do anything you want it to when it comes to forced induction, and it is a piece of cake to use. I've been running it for almost 6 months and I love it.

·
Registered
723 Posts