Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I’m new to car stuff, but I’ve heard a lot repeats of this phrase “more air+more fuel= more power (baby)”. If so, then why does the stock 01 2.5 RS air box look like this?

It looks like it’s designed to keep air from getting to the engine. I know I’m missing a lot of info here, so could someone please educate me on how this intake is good for the car?

Can I get some bonuses (better throttle response, a little more power) if I remove the stock air box, maybe replace it with a cold air intake?

Another idea I had was to create a ram air intake using the stock hood scoop. Either by cutting the stock air box open on the top and blocking the pipe that feeds into it and adding a rubber seal around the bottom of the scoop. Or by creating my own contraption. Very similar to the oil cooler found on the WRX and STI, but with an air intake instead. I know a major issue with this is water/debris getting to the air filter and into the engine. So I was thinking about having a second air intake that can be opened/closed depending on the weather. Along with an easy way to block off the ram air intake.

Would any of this work to get some more ponies from my engine? Or am I missing some important sciencey stuff?

Thanks!
-Car Noob

·
Super Moderator
2000 RSTi
916 Posts
The design is tuned to quiet the induction noise, and is tuned for the helmholtz frequency (better if you google that then my knuckle-dragging self try to explain it).

The biggest part with the hole facing us is designed to allow water to separate from very humid air, and drain out instead of get ingested by the engine.

So the intake is designed to pull cold air from behind the headlight, silence the induction noise, and filter out water from air.