Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to subarus so bare with me . Can I put sohc 99-04 heads on an earlier 2.5 dohc block .I want to buy a dohc jdm engine and convert it to sohc .I have to do this this to fit it into a vw bug .

·
Registered
rs2.5-sti hybrid
139 Posts
subaru engines are like legos man. lol. any head will fit on any block. take a 1.8 and put it on a 2.5 and it will work. the only difference is wiring, and compression. same with all the blocks fitting the trannys. for the exception of the ej22t or k. those have different bolt patterns. but you dont want them anyway. :)

·
needs more cowbell
95L, 07 2.5i, R6
9,316 Posts
You can put the heads on the block, but you'll need to use the sohc intake manifold, and that will open up another can of worms

·
Registered
1998 Forester on Orange 57F
4,129 Posts
subaru engines are like legos man. lol. any head will fit on any block. take a 1.8 and put it on a 2.5 and it will work. the only difference is wiring, and compression. same with all the blocks fitting the trannys. for the exception of the ej22t or k. those have different bolt patterns. but you dont want them anyway. :)
This is not true but not far from the truth. If you use blocks that are smaller displacement with large displacement heads you run the risk of valve interference. But most people use large displacement blocks with smaller or equal heads.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I am in a similar situation but I have a SOHC 00 RS that decided to toast the main bearing. Is it possible to use a EJ25D block out of a 97 DOHC Legacy?

I have connections to a good block but want to know if I can swap over my timing belt and tensioners onto that block. Anyone know?

·
Registered
59 Posts
I am in a similar situation but I have a SOHC 00 RS that decided to toast the main bearing. Is it possible to use a EJ25D block out of a 97 DOHC Legacy?