Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
02 GD6
2,056 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I dont want to go into too many details about what happened, but in one equation:

auto-x event + low fuel + shitty subaru tank design + air in fuel line at the wrong moment + slalom too close to wall = totaled subaru + injured passenger (my gf :()

it's been a month since the incident. i was fine after 2-3 days, my gf still is a bit sore but is almost recovered (doing physio). she submarined and bruised up her knee/back. car totalled = alot of frustration with insurance + grief over losing a special car. it hasnt been the greatest few weeks as you probably can imagine.

now alot of people close to me (parents, ciblings, and most importantly, girlfriend) don't want me to race anymore. racing is my favourite hobby and i've been doing it for two years now. i look forward to it imensly and it brings me alot of satisfaction and happiness. my gf always supported me by coming out to the races and it was a fun outing we both enjoyed alot.

so now what? what do i do? i dont want to give it up, but i do respect my gf's worries and fears that she developped from the wreck.

i appreciate any advice, especially from anyone who's been thru a big wreck at the track.

·
Registered
12,196 Posts
I've never really gotten into something like that before, but I totaled my RS back in February, so I kinda know what it's like. Anastasia was my first real love. I was very attached, and now she's gone <3 It was tough for me to drive after that. I was extremely cautious all the time, constantly nervous, and I had flashbacks of the accident for several months afterwards. It can be somewhat traumatizing.

Let me ask you this. What do you do when you get knocked down?

Stand the fuck back up! Find another Subaru, build it back up and get your ass back to the track. If you enjoy what you do, its your hobby and you don't want to quit... then don't!

·
Registered
02 GD6