Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, the paychecks are finally adding up, and I have about $650 ready to blow on the RS. What should my first mods be? Muffler/ Intake, or tires/suspension (thinking of lowering about 1.5")? Let me know what you guys think please. THanks

·
Registered
238 Posts
I dont know if it applies to the new RS as it did with the old but upgrading the rear sway bar makes a major difference in the cars handling. It helps make the car more neutral (less understeer).

Then upgrade the tires/rims, then suspension, then performance goodies.

Just my 2 cents

·
Premium Member
Two Mini Coopers!
10,629 Posts
If you autocross, tires and struts. Depending on your class, you might go sway bar and strut tower bars, too.

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Hi 02RSNJ,

I'm new to the mods scene too. I am doing my first mods this weekend on my new RS. After talking to a lot of people, a good idea seems to be to go with suspension first. And I definately agree that the handling is the weak point of the car. While not a rocket, the engine can definately go faster than the handling allows.

This weekend, I'm going with the front/rear sway bar, anti-lift kit, and springs. Gotta check on struts. Heard that there's not too many struts available for the New Age guys yet but I I'll do some more checking that out.

·
Registered
05 STi White + 99 RS White
1,828 Posts
If you ever plan to autocross, don't put on a anti-lift kit. You will end up in a prepared class in with the Sharks! :eek:

Go with tires, sway bar, intake for your first set of mods.:D

·
Audi Fondler
2000 Silverish 2.5rs Sedan
3,251 Posts
I'd go with intake and exhaust... can get a Dragon intake from weapon-r and a stromung dual tip for about that much... intake though can be the single most cost effective performance you can do... You'd notice it right away :)

·
Registered
597 Posts
if you're not too worried about your warranty,