Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Subaru 2.5RS
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am fairly new to everything Subaru and maybe I'm blind but I can't seem to find conclusive answers to a couple of questions. My car(2002 2.5rs with a 3in wrx catback currently) has a bad catalytic converter, and I am planning on going catless and doing either UEL headers or EL headers soon. (I haven't decided which yet) My question is do I need to run a special O2 sensor up front to compensate for this mod? I have heard of a wideband O2 sensor but I don't know if that term is referring to the front or rear sensor. The rear O2 sensor is brand new since the car had a bad sensor there when I bought it. Also, reading around my car is having some symptoms of a bad front O2 sensor, such as bucking when its warmed up, a popping sound on deceleration like a backfire but definetly not a backfire, and just overall weird behavior right when the throttle is applied after being closed while driving. The front O2 sensor is almost as expensive as the exhaust that I want to get so I want to be sure I get the right one. Knowing all of this, is there anything in particular I should look for in a front O2 sensor?

(if you're thinking of responding to my post with something like"just search, it has been documented" then prove it to me with a link, because I can't find a SOLID answer) :loser:

·
Baby❤Daddy
98L Wagon
27,848 Posts
get a denso OE replacement o2 sensor. do not get bosch. amazon is a good place to start.

EL versus UEL will depend on what you want it to sound like. EL will make it sound like a honda. UEL will make it sound like a subaru.

no, you do not need a special o2 sensor up front.

when you buy a header/cat section make sure you buy (or make sure it's included) a CEL fix for the rear sensor. it's an L shaped section that takes the sensor out of the direct stream.

·
Baby❤Daddy
98L Wagon
27,848 Posts