Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

Your suggestions

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2000 2.5rs; Ridge Blue
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, I bought my first Subaru in December - 2000 4-door 2.5rs (obviously) - 5-sp manual. She's my 6th car since I turned 16, and I have finally found something I REALLY like (and hasn't broken down on me yet). As all things go (and partially because I'm a product designer by trade), I can't seem to keep it stock, so my mind has been wandering as to what to do and to what extent. I can't tell if I have the EJ251 or the EJ25e but I guess it doesn't matter (but would be nice to know). A friend of mine is offering me his engine from a 91 Legacy GT for $500. I believe it to be an EJ22T. To my disadvantage, I know rebuilding is a lot of work (and it certainly needs this with 240K mi) and there will be troubles and blah, blah, blah, but again, I like one-off, custom things and don't mind waiting / getting my hands dirty. I am a gear head, but that does not make me a mechanic. If I do go this route, and while I am rebuilding the engine anyway, I also can't help thinking twin-turbo. I'm not even sure what I'm asking here - is this an incredibly bad idea? maybe? To my advantage, I work in a custom metal fabrication warehouse. We do high-end custom work for designers, architects, and artists - so I have some resources. I'm just looking to have some fun with it and have something to show at the end. Thanks!

·
Registered
01 STM RS EJ257, 6MT, Brembos
2,033 Posts