Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Premium Member
2000 BRP RS-Swapped
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have stock audio setup from 2000 RS (radio plus CD unit, front, door, and rear window speakers).
its getting old, and won't play most CD's. Speakers still sound pretty good though.

I've never tried swapping out audio before, looking for something that is easy for a newb to do, and works with a USB stick and maybe iPhone input ?
any suggestions ?

Is there anything that is basicly just.... slide out the old, slot in the new? or do I need a bunch or wiring harnesses, and brackets ?

thoughts appreciated

cheers

·
Registered
2000 Subaru Impreza 2.5 RS SRP
162 Posts
Go to crutchfield, put in your car, and search for all the things that fit. Crutchfield has killer instructions and customer service, so even if you've never done it before, they will help you through it. Most single din should fit, and you can make most double din fit with minor modifications.

Crutchfield: Car Stereo, Speakers, Home Theater, LED LCD TV, Cameras

·
Premium Member
2000 BRP RS-Swapped
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #3

·
Registered
98 impreza obs 2.2L
86 Posts
Try adding some tweeters into your doors if you dont already have them. They go right by the door handle, behind the speaker looking part of the plastic trim. and just switch out your speakers its pretty simple just improvise.

·
Registered
The subaru of many acronyms
1,919 Posts
pioneer makes good budget speakers, if your the type that likes lots of bass plan on doing a sub and dont crank to much bass on the speakers.

·
Premium Member
2000 BRP RS-Swapped
212 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Try adding some tweeters into your doors if you dont already have them. They go right by the door handle, behind the speaker looking part of the plastic trim. and just switch out your speakers its pretty simple just improvise.
thanks much..