Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
98 SF-Toaster
434 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have tried searching but only dash swaps I can find are GD dash swaps into GC, which is not what I am looking for.

I have an opportunity to purchase a V6 front end which includes the front dash, cluster, etc to replace my V2 front end and dash, etc.

How is fitment for this? Obviously I am going to have to rewire my gauge cluster, which isn't too big of a deal for me, I'll just have to find/read a pinout diagram and do some soldering and rewiring (which is what I do for a living anyways) but how does the rest of the dash fit?

I will be using my factory door cards, any problems for fitment on this dash?
Climate control rewiring going to be needed as well I can only assume.

Any input would be greatly appreciated. For the price Im getting this front end for including the dash, its worth what I'd pay for a hood + bumper + v6 grille/headlights anyways.

-kellen.

·
Registered
1994 Subaru Impreza sedan
50 Posts
yeah i wud like a write-up on this dash conversion too. the GD dashes are nice n all but it seems like a Ver6 dash wud be an easier swap, and im sure its probably been done before.

·
Registered
02 Forester L\\ (RIP)01 2.5rs
1,146 Posts
Doorcards are gonna be an issue, they are shaped differently. I have a 2001 RS and a 96 OBS and I just looked at them both, completely different.

Just try and swap everything you possibly can over from the clip, and then try sourcing some doorcards.

·
Premium Member
96 Impreza Coupe
1,647 Posts
I am in the middle of a RS dash into my 95 L.
So far here is what I have found:

-The two upper dash mounts by the windshield are different.(haven't found a fix yet, weld new tabs maybe?)

-The dashbar mounting points Where the dash bar ataches to the trans tunnel are different.(Drilled the dashbar hole bigger and used washers)

-Hood release bracket bolt holes don't line up.(haven't found a fix yet)