Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi,

i just got myself a Blue 2001 2.5RS a couple of days ago. i'm new to Subarus, but i'm a DIY guy so i was looking for a Chilton's that covers my car but couldn't find one that covered up to 2001. what maintenance books are out there for the 2.5RS? are there any kinda typical ailments that the 2.5RS is notorious for?

TIA

latez,
takashi

·
Registered
2000 RS BRP
209 Posts
TakaSaurus said:
but i'm a DIY guy so i was looking for a Chilton's that covers my car but couldn't find one that covered up to 2001. what maintenance books are out there for the 2.5RS?
I have attempted to located a Chilton's guide without any luck for my RS. I have been told they do not make them for newer model Subarus yet.

You might have more luck with www.scoobymods.com They are a good source of info.

Welcome to the Scooby family!:sunny:

~Teresa

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i saw that book, but i wasn't sure if it still applied to the 2001 2.5RS. i know that the 2001 is a SOHC, whereas the 1996 is a DOHC, right? other than that, are there any differences between the two years?

thanks,
takashi

·
Registered
392 Posts
they actually never made a rs until 98 but most of the parts for the car are in there. they use almost the same body as we do no matter what year. The only differences that are visibal are the front fascia and engine size. They do not cover the 2.5l but do have illustrations of pretty much everypart on our car just a bit bigger or small than ours..

lets just say it's a rough estimate of what the rs looks like. it's the best we got unless you feel like dishing out 350 for a set of mechanics manuals from subaru. if you do please scan them and i'll gladly pay you how ever much... ;) but other than that sorry..

·
Registered
26,087 Posts
hey, i have tried looking for those books too. then i think i figured out that they don't exist for 2000 RS.