Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
'00 RS / V5 STI
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like my optima yellow top wants to be recycled - build date is 11/15 and it trickled down over a week of non-use.

I’ve heard that the quality on optimas has gone down considerably, and I know lightweight batteries are all the rage.

Any recommendations? What are you running in your car? I’m not worried about price so much as a good long-term battery that will hold up even with minimal use.

-TC

·
Registered
307 Posts
I always use the walmart maxx 35N, they have like a 3 yesr warranty no questions asked so if you have a draw in the harness and it dies you can hand it in with the receipt and get a brand new one. They run about $100, Ive been using walmart batteries in GCs for like 12 years

·
Registered
'00 RS / V5 STI
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Sorry I should probably be more specific.

I’m looking for a solid state battery, or one that is lightweight and not lead acid. Like a braille or whatever the equivalent is for cars. I’d love to save weight, but more importantly, I need something that is better for a car that’s stored more than driven (sadly) and lead acid doesn’t typically hold up well in that scenario compared to solid state versions.

-TC

·
Registered
00 BRP RS Coupe
798 Posts
Used to run Optima red top's, the last 2 left me stranded. Been running a Napa Legend battery since and has never let me down. Put them in all my cars now.

·
Administrator
2000 RSTi
1,506 Posts
A YouTube channel I follow had a car fire due to the lithium ion battery. Be careful.

My motorcycle has a conventional battery, and I have a battery tender on it so it stays charged during the months I don't use it.

·
Registered
'00 RS / V5 STI
624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
A YouTube channel I follow had a car fire due to the lithium ion battery. Be careful.