Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i am new to the whole racing thing and am interested in auto-crossing this summer. i was wondering what i might need to do it and what i should do to get prepared. i am in New Hampshire and would like someone to tag along with to get the hang of things. i just got a membership to SCCA and dont know what to do next.

·
Premium Member
overdeveloped beater
8,335 Posts
Sorry so long....

First, I would check out the www.scca.org and then find the region locator for the region you fall under. Most likely NER (new england region).

From there you can find a schedule and more than likely a FAQ link for new members.

There are alot of Scoobs running up there, KC (Keith Casey)being one of the most prevelant that I can think of. His site is http://www.rallydecals.com/rallydecals/ and he can give you all sorts of advice on starting out.

My advice would be to pack a lunch, air your tires up about 10psi over max, and bring clothes for any weather. Bring a lawnchair too as you'll be doing alot of sitting around. Oh and a couple sheets of paper, tape and marker for your numbers.

When you show up, inform the registration folks that this is your first event so they might pair you up with a more experienced person to show you the ropes of how an event is run.

Once you get registered, go take everything out of the car that is not fastened down, including the trunk area. Once that is done, you should have a number and class to run in (from registration) so put that on the car somewhere. Use the paper and marker for this and tape it to your rear 1/4 window. Shoe polish works in a pinch, but is often illegible or ineffective during rain.