Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
well i bought a 2004 wrx trans tonight..
it came with hubs, axles, clutch, linkage, cross member, drive shaft,diff,slave cylinder
it did not come with a wrx trans harness,petal box, but what else do i need to do to the ecu??
should i use a wrx pedal box or an 2000 rs

p.s. im new to this......:facepalm: take it easy on me
tried looking around here but could not find anything i suck with forums

THANKS,
Mikey

·
Registered
1999 Impreza L
96 Posts
Basicly wondering if I can use the harness on my rs auto Trans?and what will it take to work with the ecu?
When I did my swap I used the auto harness and just spliced in what I needed. For the ECU, you just need to ground the pin that identifies whether it is an AT or MT. I removed the TCM as well.

The ECU diagram from this post is what I used to find that pin (pin 25).

For the other wiring diagrams, head over to the Factory Service Manual Thread to download the service manuals with the wiring diagrams. Click the first link, which will lead you here. You'll want to download the ImprezaGC-1996-2001.zip file. Once you download it, there will be a folder labeled 'Wiring Diagrams Section'.

You'll need to use those diagrams to wire up your VSS, neutral safety switch, reverse lights, and to splice together some wires on the old auto shifter to let your key come out.

Some other good resources:

DIY Auto to Manual Swap
Surreal Image - Subaru Legacy AT-MT swap
05 WRX MT into 98 Legacy

Remember some of these other threads are different model years and different models altogether, so make sure you have the correct diagrams for your specific car.

There are also a ton of threads out there, so if you are having trouble using the forum search, go to google and type in: site:rs25.com and whatever search term you want.

ex. site:rs25.com auto to manual swap