Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I just recently bought a 2000 RS. I have been keeping my eyes open for the right car for a few years now and came across one that was rust free! Anyway, I am looking for an aluminum hood for it and have just found out it’s been discontinued. There have to be some floating around somewhere out there. Anyone got a lead on where I could find one or looking to sell one? Thanks

·
Super Moderator
2000 RSTi
441 Posts
Yeah, contact a JDM importer and they can get you one in a shipment.

It will be blisteringly expensive and that's why most don't have them.

·
Registered
40 Posts
I've been looking for one as well. And I've been afraid to try to order it from a JDM importer. It looks like it can be done for around $900, but I am very, very afraid of being hit with some Customs Fee that I don't understand. I'm fairly sure the part number for the JDM hood is: 57220FA100. If you Google the part number, you'll see what I mean. The US part number 57220FA130, for some reason, it is listed to weigh like 10 lbs more than it should, so I don't know what the story is on that.

·
Registered
2000 RS Coupe
218 Posts
I bought one brand new in tbe box from Heuberger Subaru in Colorado about 2 years ago. When the salesman emailed me to verify the VIN he told me he thought it was the last one available. In retrospect I really lucked out cuz I really didn't pay shit compared to what some people are charging for beat up used ones...

·
Registered
40 Posts
I did not. I finally decided to try to purchase from Amayama, and when you put the hood in the cart, it quotes you $810 for the hood and $54 for shipping. I figured when I ordered that would be adjusted to something more like $250 or so. Boy was I wrong. $2400 shipping. Needless to say, I cancelled that order. Oh well. I'll keep looking.

·
Impreza Actual
2001 RS-T
1,289 Posts