Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

· Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought this 98 RS back in August of 2020, I parked it in December of 2020, Left it there for about 6 months and someone tried breaking into it, so moved it to my father in laws. I recently bought a house and finally brought her home. I originally wanted this car to learn on as I went but as I got further into it I realized the entire car just needs to be completely restored. The jack points are gone, rockers aren't that bad but there are holes in the passenger side. Jack points are gone and there is a bit more rot than I really accounted for. After getting it inspected by a few shops I was told it's all repairable. I originally was looking for a new shell at the very least but after taking a look at a few over the past few years... mine really isn't that bad. I have very little experience working on cars. I've changed a few sensors, brakes, struts. This is likely biting off more than I can chew and I don't know if I'll follow through. But I bit the bullet and bought the subie saver rear quarters and rockers last week. I have a body guy coming this week to get the ball rolling. It currently has/had a weird NA/T setup that was constantly burning through O2 sensors and choking itself out. I plan to gut it and WRX swap it. I don't know if I'll actually ever finish it all myself which has led me to being hesitant to post about it.

Brown Wood Automotive design Comfort Tints and shades
Tire Car Wheel Land vehicle Vehicle
Vehicle Car Motor vehicle Hood Automotive design
Wood Gas Hardwood Tints and shades Composite material
Tire Wheel Car Vehicle Land vehicle

· Registered
180 Posts
Good call on not messing with the NA/T setup, more headaches than benefits!