Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
98 impreza outback m/t 2.2
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im a noob when it comes to subaru's. So it will start and run fine for a few times. Then the rest of the time it will take a minute or two to start. Runs rough then bogs out and dies. I got it about two weeks ago. It is a m/t.
Here is want i have put on it
Fuel filter
Iacv
Nss
Tps
And now i am hearing a solid noise from the fuel pump. Could the fuel pump be going bad? And does any know if this thing as a fuel cut off switch?

·
Registered
'96 OBS
350 Posts
Usually with the symptoms you described I'd say to check your vaccum lines, especially the one that goes to the MAP sensor (if the 98's had a MAP). In your case though, if the fuel pump is actually making bad noises I'd just go ahead and replace it. It shouldn't be hard to get to in a wagon (seriously, be glad you don't have a coupe). Worst case you might want to take the seat backs out, which are pretty quick n easy.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The hose are good. Ya that was what i was thinking. Ya coupes suck for those jobs

·
Registered
203 Posts
I would check the MAF sensor and/or the ignition control module. Does the car have a hood scoop, and did you remove the backing plate to the scoop?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Ok so started it this morning and starts with no problems. As soon as it gets to opt temp thats when she starts to have problems. I put her to 3500 rpm to see if it might be the o2, but still bogs and i put gas in to it. I have been reading and reading. Could it be the temp sensor like i have been reading?

·
Super Moderator
2000 RSTi
1,248 Posts