Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i own a 95 impreza 2dr 1.8 L model. what can i do to put some performance in this thing? are there parts available to swap from the rs newer body? i already have the hood and spoiler. please help me.

·
Meany Head
2000 RSC
10,236 Posts
What is your mechanical expertise level? Cuz, you can pick up a 2.5 or a 2.2 motor pretty cheap. But.. you gotta know how to do the install.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
is a 2.2 woth the effort or is the 2.5 the best route?

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i have some mechanical knowledge for simple bolt on parts, a motor upgrade would be paying someone for the install. what are some simple upgrades or swaps i can do myself? i seen an rsb upgrade in another forum, what is that?

·
Rally Hopeful
1997 L White - 2004 STi WRB
560 Posts
Your 1.8L puts out ~110 HP. The 2.2L Puts out ~135HP (newer ones are ~140).
The 2.5 puts out ~155HP (again I believe newer ones are 160, and even newer ones are now 173!)

The 2.2 is the easiest swap for you, as you can still use almost your entier setup and wiring. The cost should be ~300 - 400 for a complete motor. (thats what I'm hoping to sell mine for) I believe that a 2.5 would be more wiring work and you need a new ECU, the cost for a good 2.5 would also be more, I would guess ~500 to ~600?? (+extras)

So, its really up to you. 25-30 HP (gain) for $300 or 45-50 HP (gain) for $500.

A RSB is a "Rear Sway Bar". It helps your car handle better (less understeer, faster turn in). If you have a 1.8L. I would guess that you dont have a RSB at all. You need to source some rear control arms and sway bar mounts and then also the RSB. This is a very nice upgrade, most parts can be found at the junk yard.

·
Premium Member
'17 Impreza Sport, '15 OB 3.6R
9,806 Posts
RS engine for < $500. You betcha.

·
Meany Head
2000 RSC
10,236 Posts