Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 86 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey I got a 95 l coupe with a bad auto trans I'm going to be doing a complete usdm ej205 swap into. I'm new to the mechanical side of things but I've been into Subarus for a long time and have been reading the swap threads here for years! I have a complete running 2004 wrx wagon as my parts car, I picked it up from a copart auction, it had hazardous materials for a spill in the carpet, it's got 135k miles on it. It needs a new clutch for sure which I already have and I'm also going to be resealing the motor as well with a complete gasket kit( where should I purchase this from?) I'm going to be taking everything possible from it, engine, transmission, x member, brakes, ect. I'm curious about what I can't use, correct me if I'm wrong but I can't use anything from the rear suspension? I'll add some pics of the cars after work! Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated!

·
www.jackstalk.com
‘98 RS, '00 911 Cab, '18 CT6 TT, '04 Escalade ESV
5,497 Posts
You can use pretty much everything besides body panels and interior trim. The entire Rear end will bolt up no problem, you can even use the gas tank if you want.

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You can use pretty much everything besides body panels and interior trim. The entire Rear end will bolt up no problem, you can even use the gas tank if you want.
Nice! Would there be any drawbacks, with the wagon suspension in the coupe?

·
www.jackstalk.com
5,497 Posts
Nice! Would there be any drawbacks, with the wagon suspension in the coupe?
I think the track is a little narrower than the sedan IIRC but if you use all the wagon parts for your build it's mostly fine. I actually prefer the WRX track width on GCs because it really fills out the fenders and makes the car look the way it should.

·
Registered
2000 Impreza 2.5RS BRP
3,537 Posts