Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
11 WRX, 00 GF
87 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've wanted to get into rallyx for a few years now, I finally bought a 2000 Impreza L last November, I planned to build a car that could still be a daily driver, fun to take on the back roads, take it to a few rally events, and not look like a complete pile of crap

First task, get it running...

the engine made so much noise when I first bought it, I didn't think it was going to drive onto the dolly. I was pretty sure it had spun a bearing or a rod snapped, so I picked up a '98 EJ25D block as a replacement. I then pulled the engine and found one of the timing sprocket's bearings went out and slipped over a 1/2 inch, somehow none of the valves were bent :clap: so I went ahead reassembled the engine, with the bigger block still. I have some automotive knowledge, mostly what my parents have taught me over the last 20 years, but this was still my first time doing the head gaskets and timing belt so I was a little nervous. After working out a few bugs, she fired right up. I've never driven a stock EJ222, but I have driven a stock EJ25D, (in a 98 forester with 200k miles) and I must say, I like this frankenstein engine a lot more, maybe its just the car its in... Anyways, mod list below, items in red are my future plans:

Engine:
EJ25D block, EJ222 heads/intake
Cometic Headgaskets
Lightweight flywheel
Exedy 25RS clutch/pressure plate
MS3 UEL Singleport Headers
K&N air filter
EJ253 Cams
STI 11mm oil pump
Rebuild 98 amp alternator
Gravelsport intake
Grounding kit
Delta Reground Cams

Suspension Modifications:
17mm RSB
KYB AGX Struts

Exterior Modifications:
OBS hood/grill painted satin black
97 Legacy Outback Rims/RS 6 Spokes with Blizzaks
02 WRX Fog lights
Yakima Loadwarrior Rack
4 Hella 700FF lights <-- need to install
Window tint
Repair rear quarter rust, repaint

Interior Modifications: