Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys so I’ve been reading on these swaps but everyone says just buy a wrx. Well I understand that but I’m trying to swap a 2.0 turbo engine into my 2.5i it has a blown engine and salvage title, I recently purchased this car knowing of everything got a great deal on it so now I want to build it. I’m new to Subaru’s so don’t have much knowledge on it. I did some research and says I would have to buy a front end wrx subframe to fit it so here’s my question , would I need to change out the differentials and drive shaft and axles or do they fit ? Also I will get the 2.0 transmission also , if anyone can give me a list of what I will need so I can start purchasing everything I’m going to need. Thank you

·
Super Moderator
2000 RSTi
929 Posts
Read through this:

Now, after reading through that,
-knowing that you'll be investing $6k+ into your car (it varies quite a bit, and depends on the engine you get, whether it's solid or needs rebuilds, upgrades, broken transmission replacements, etc),
-knowing that you won't be able to sell the car for more than a couple grand when you're ready to move on
-knowing that you'll not have that car available to drive for potentially (probably) multiple months
-the extra expense involved in passing the BAR (you're in California, right?)

Start by contacting Iwire or a different wiring service to have your electrical harness made.

As for your other questions, try searching on this site first (use less words if necessary) and post back if you cannot find the answers.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Read through this:

Now, after reading through that,
-knowing that you'll be investing $6k+ into your car (it varies quite a bit, and depends on the engine you get, whether it's solid or needs rebuilds, upgrades, broken transmission replacements, etc),