Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well i just had some work done to my car and a friend of mine "also happenes to work in subaru repairs and fixed my car" said i was leaking coolant from somewhere because it ends up all over my engine somehow. He said my block is most likely cracked somewhere but he just cant find it yet. I need to know how i can get my hands on a new or used 2.2 short block for a 97 impreza? Im a noob at this so i have no idea how or where i can get one. Thanks

·
Registered
1999 Subaru Impreza L Coupe
281 Posts
That's a pisser dude.

Being a noob as well, I'd say 'F' the 2.2 and find a 2.5 to throw in the hole. Or at least shop around for a low miles 2.2.

There is light at the end of the tunnel though... apparently your car is still running.. so baby it for a while, buy an engine, learn to work on it, replace some of the goodies inside and then install it when you absolutely need it.

Greg

Oh yah, BUMP for someone that knows what they are talking about.

·
Registered
BRP ver5 RSTi, Beater Leggy
370 Posts
Agreed, I doubt the block is cracked. If anything, it is the HG's.

When I bought my 2.2 beater leggy, it was summer. Didn't realize the previous owner left coolant mix of 90% water and 10% coolant...

Winter starts, coolant hoses were frozen SOLID. All liquid coolant in the engine block was frozen... but the car started right up with just a little struggle (I know, I should have never started it up). I swear water freezing in the block was gonna crack it somehow (I've seen it happen many times before) but after 15 minutes of idling, water all melted, engine ran normal. Still runs fine to this day with 180k on the clock.

The 2.2 block is freakin indestructable.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks