Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1997 Subaru Impreza Outback
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I came across a totaled 09 WRX with all internals intact (except for the radiator being slightly bent) I plan on swapping it into my 97 Impreza Outback..this is my first Subaru so I'm pretty new to this scene so I have a couple questions that can hopefully be answered.

1) is the ECU and Wiring harness compatible?

2) can i use the diffs, struts, and axles off the 09?

3) Will I have to change the wiring at all?

4) can the dashboard be swapped in along with shifter boot/knob?

Any help is appreciated!

-Tim

Attachments

·
Registered
2009 BL5, 2001 RS
3,472 Posts
The dash actually can be swapped in but it fits HORRIBLE. Even worse than 02-07 gd dash swaps.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Damn...alright so what ECU and Wiring harness should I be getting? I'm looking at this but the guy selling seems kinda shady on it so i might just do an EJ20 swap but I want the powwwaaaaa!!

·
Registered
2000 Ej257 swapped 2.5rs
83 Posts
... the guy selling seems kinda shady...
Yeah, stay away from that, haha.

You're going to need to merge the harness yourself or find someone to do it for you.

Dash will swap but it's hard to make it fit and most will argue that the best safety with respect to airbags is achieved using stock dash.

You can't use the rear diff from the WRX, it's a different final drive. Axles will work. Struts will work if you use your tophats.

Best bet is to do a full drivetrain swap from the WRX including transmission, rear diff, and axles. You'll need a new clutch slave cyl. though.

This falls under the category of "If you have to ask how much it costs....." But, it can be done, all the info you need is here, just please, for the love of god, get a daily driver while you work on this project!

·
They call me Garrett
98 RBP V4 STi Swapped RS
4,116 Posts