Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a 2004 WRX (automatic tranny) last week. It is my daily driver, but would still like to make it a little quicker. I am fairly new to subaru's and do not know where to start. I was thinking of maybe starting with an up-pipe kit, cold air intake and exhaust but am not sure? I also do not want my car to be overly loud. Any help would be greatly appreciated? Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
1995 S14 w/S14 SR
1,323 Posts
Up-pipe, downpipe to SPT catback, and a tune. You'll be catless, pretty quite, and you'll pick up some power.

·
Registered
93 version6 1.8L turbo 08 WRX
2,359 Posts

·
Registered
04 WRX
39 Posts
Accessport V2. this alone will free up power.
Add downpipe,catless uppipe, 2.5" catback since you want it somewhat quiet.Iv got a 3" stromung turbo back and its still mildly quiet untill wot.Dont bother with anysort of intake,not worth it at your power level unless you get a protune,or one of clarks email tunes.
That should be a good start,if you still want a little more on the stock turbo try one of Clark Turners maps for the AP,he does a great job.

·
Registered
1995 S14 w/S14 SR
1,323 Posts
If you have the money, skip the AP - it runs stupid rich and an open source tune/ecutek/protune from a reputable tuner will be 10x better.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
thanks for all the help so far. I was wondering what up-pipe, down-pipe combo you guys would recommend??

·
Registered
04 WRX
39 Posts