Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community banner

Jonny O's 2001 RS. Cursing, crude humor, and flying ball bearings inside.

94K views 602 replies 61 participants last post by  dogletnoir 
#1 · (Edited)
Hi guys and gals. Figured it was time to stop peeking in your windows and come on it. I guess this is as much of an intro as it is about my new RS.

I have been lurking here for years. Made a profile after I bought my RS just to PM folks for parts, and have finally decided to get the ball rolling here as I’ll have some questions and need some opinions.
Here’s a long winded story of my Subaru love.

I have been a Subaru guy for years, but they have always been my winter beaters. I work in the motorsports industry and have a summer street/strip car, so something fun to slog around in through the Ohio winters was what I was looking for. Years ago in college I landed a clean low miles 96 5-speed 1.8 liter Brighton. I drove the piss out of it for years. Changed the oil, rolled the windows down and cranked my door only speakers until they were popping and cracking and enjoyed every minute of it.
Then, my buddy, a Sergeant and Motor Transport Operator in the United States Marine Corps at the time, did this.

It was all good. He was fine, no one else hurt, so I was cool. Here’s a quick excerpt from the time. Mind you, he was 3 days out of a deployment: