Jinba Ittai - Page 5 - Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com
 
Private Support i-Trader Ratings Become a Vendor Rules for VendorsModsUsers Contact
Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com
gc8 RSS GC8 Facebook Subaru GC8 Twitter Subaru YouTube Channel Subaru Sticker
 
Login below or Register Now
Register Mark Forums Read FAQ Advertise
Go Back   Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com > >
Jinba Ittai
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2018, 06:35 AM   #41
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

Thanks. Im gonna take the wheels for powder coating before so it may be a while.
As for reverse light I just ordered a new male plug from iwire for it. Once I see it everything works, I'll go thru and get rid of the unnecessary cluster of shit.
I believe you can delete the larger plug and just hide it all in the remaining harness. Then I'll make a plug n play jumper for the nss and reverse lights, for eaze of removal later.
My auto had 2 vss as it's a phll. So I couldn't just pull it and switch. My NSA goes to my clutch pedal and back is all. There's about 4 or 5 ways iv read to wire it up. I just liked this one.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2018, 07:46 AM   #42
Rising
2.5L
 
Fav Mod: 24mm RSB
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 228
Default

Ahhhh yes I forgot they are different. The 98's VSS 2 Goes straight to the cluster and then the cluster feeds the ECU. I think they changed this later.

Ahh so you have to be in neutral OR clutch in to start? I just ran the Manual Starter relay ONLY to the clutch so I can't start in neutral... maybe I'll change that at some point if I get a remote start :-p.

What color are you going for the wheels?
__________________
Rising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 08:08 AM   #43
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

It still goes to the cluster and ecu there's just different style plugs on the tran. Now it's a 3 wire plug. As far as starting in neutral or clutch in, that's my goal. I haven't had time to test it out.

Wheels I'm thinkin white. Plus I'm still on the wall for tires I want.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 04:34 PM   #44
FryphaX
Premium Member
 
FryphaX's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: Registration!
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Home - U.P. of Michigan Work takes me everywhere.
Trader Rating: (4)
Posts: 2,637
Default

So for the VSS you just run a wire from the trans to the cluster? I'm trying to figure this out on my 98 GT right now.
__________________
2001 SRP Coupe 8300RPM SOHC 257, 71 HTA, DCCD RA Drivetrain and ms3-Pro
FryphaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 04:42 PM   #45
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

You may be able to pull the vss out of your old tran and switch. 98 seems like most could. If not I ran my to the signal pin on my TCU. An also the power and ground from there also. On mine the B55 plug pin 13 was it. Yours may be pin 81. They differ by year.

Check out dirtcheapdaily on YouTube. I think his was a 98 legacy. He did it alittle different,but same affect.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon

Last edited by scruff3333; 07-02-2018 at 04:46 PM..
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 04:56 PM   #46
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

Not to spread wrong info, I'm not positive on my98. Pin 81 may be on the ecu from your signal on vss/tran. There is a few ways iv found it can work. (Wire from vss to tcu,ecu,or cluster. If you can't find it let me know I have it saved for my98 leg somewhere.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2018, 09:43 PM   #47
Rising
2.5L
 
Fav Mod: 24mm RSB
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 228
Default

On the EJ22 MY98 Auto the speed sensor wire is Pin 83 and is green black.

For my WRX swap I spliced that wire to B134 Pin 1 and then just out the two wire speed sensor into the new transmission and other than that the wiring is untouched. All works as expected! But I'm sure there are a few ways to accomplish the same thing.

i will say I did not thino about chsnging the sensor until the transmission was already installed and that made for a whole lot of fun when it broke trying to uninstall it.

Sent from my Mi A1 using Tapatalk
__________________
Rising is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2018, 10:53 AM   #48
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

So couple "cel" popped. No surprise.






New ground on ecu mt/auto identifier took care of the 1722.

Couple of things to try for speed sensor codes left.
Went ahead and ordered a dash harness anyway, figured I could use it and send the auto one to keener with the 06 sti harness I also picked up a while back. 😈

Other than that cars is so much more fun to drive with the 2.5 and manual. The 06 wrx clutch and new 06 wrx act streetlite are very smooth. Only put maybe 40 miles at best. (No odometer). I'm bout ready to start in on the suspension as soon as I get this wiring figured out. So looking forward to that.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2018, 10:52 PM   #49
scruff3333
Premium Member
 
scruff3333's Avatar
 
Fav Mod: broken motor
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: wetside washington
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 856
Default

Uggh. Son of bitch!
I hate when I take too long to write something and it wont post it.



Another time I guess.
__________________
Nerds get to go to the moon
scruff3333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2018, 12:21 AM   #50
FXTrev
2.5L
 
Fav Mod: Suspension
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CA
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 284
Default

I hate that shit. It's happened too many times..If I realize the post is getting long, I try and copy/paste it to notepad just in case.
FXTrev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2019 VerticalScope Inc.
Designed & Powered by Domain Architect