Brydon Teaches YOU to Merge a Harness - Page 8 - Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com
 
Private Support i-Trader Ratings Become a Vendor Rules for VendorsModsUsers Contact
Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com
gc8 RSS GC8 Facebook Subaru GC8 Twitter Subaru YouTube Channel Subaru Sticker
 
Login below or Register Now
Register Mark Forums Read FAQ Advertise
Go Back   Subaru Impreza GC8 & RS Forum & Community: RS25.com > >
Brydon Teaches YOU to Merge a Harness
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2010, 10:13 PM   #71
Brydon
2.5L RS-T
 
Fav Mod: IHRTLAG -- License Plate
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 4,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IWire View Post
You are doing it correct. The 02-03s have a different connector than the 04-05s, but they do the exact same thing. You just run the 2 wires direct to the OBD2 so that only the green connectors need to be plugged in to flash.
Perfect thanks. I've reflashed both my cars many times with no issues but I only use open source. I've personally never used the Access Port on anything.
__________________
The moral of my story? Listen to the voice of experience.. *cough Brydon* - Skidd
Brydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-27-2010, 12:35 PM   #72
johnms88
2.0L
 
Join Date: May 2010
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 86
Default

Im to the point where everything is labeled and ready for merging. Can anyone give me some detail as to how the wiring is done for keeping the WRX transmission? It says to merge the wire for the nutral switch (that wire goes to a plug on the wrx trans for the nss). Do you still merge that and change a plug orrr... Kinda lost.
johnms88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 02:22 PM   #73
UnderpoweredRS
aka RFoy2.5RS-T
 
UnderpoweredRS's Avatar
 
Car: 98 RS
Fav Mod: EJ205
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Stratford NJ
Trader Rating: (22)
Posts: 1,707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnms88 View Post
Im to the point where everything is labeled and ready for merging. Can anyone give me some detail as to how the wiring is done for keeping the WRX transmission? It says to merge the wire for the nutral switch (that wire goes to a plug on the wrx trans for the nss). Do you still merge that and change a plug orrr... Kinda lost.
Take the same approach this guide took for the engine and it should net you the same result. Trace the WRX trans plugs into the wrx harness do the same with the rs trans plugs in the rs harness cut and splice the wrx trans wires to the rs harness. Just make sure you pick a spot that's A) a straight run of the harness that doesn't get bunt too much. and B) you will be able to get to in 5 years without taking the much of the car apart just in case issues do come up. How ever if you do a nice job and do it correctly like he shows you will have no issues. My car was wired with this type of mentality and I've had no issues for 6 years.


That being said I just took the time and looked this guide over. I have to say it's the best way to approach the merg and the best guide I've ever seen. Great Job!
__________________
My GC8 Your STi
UnderpoweredRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 03:46 AM   #74
xecuta
2.0L
 
Fav Mod: 6spd DCCD and Brembos
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Wellington, NZL
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 50
Default

wow thanks for this, i only wish i read this thread 2 months ago when i started it on my car... its still not going and i totally stripped the whole loom out and replaced it with a full ver8 sti loom, and doing the the whole GDB interior mod at the same time...
here are some pics i hope im not hijacking you thread...

this is what it used to look like:


in between... looks like rat nest...


yesterday:
xecuta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 06:34 PM   #75
fastfalcon94
2.7L
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Milton, VT
Trader Rating: (15)
Posts: 353
Default

Does anyone here know how the fuel level sensor works? I swapped an 06 engine into my 98. I wired the fuel level wire (brown with white stripe) correctly. My fuel gauge doesn't work. The needle doesn't budge, it's about 1/8" below the empty line. B135 pin 10 on the 06 wrx ecu. I just checked continuity from the ecu plug to the back of the cluster. I also checked continuity to a plug underneath the rear seat. Then it feeds under the car and runs up to where the fuel pump 6 pin plug is, however it doesn't appear to go to this connector. It runs over to towards the driver's side of the car. I poked the wire here and tested continuity to the plug under the seat.

The only strange thing I did, was I used the 06 wrx fuel pump assembly. I had to take the little plastic box off the bottom of it, but the rest dropped right in. It has the metal wire arm with blackbox. I always thought this was the sensor... But if the brown/white wire doesn't connect to one of the 6 pins going into the fuel pump, I don't see how it works. I've yet to jack my car up and follow the wire...
__________________
My Suby Build
fastfalcon94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2011, 09:13 AM   #76
URAL
2.2L Turbo
 
Car: 94L
Fav Mod: <3 All Mods =]
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ny USA / ural RUS
Trader Rating: (10)
Posts: 2,782
Default

Brydon, I hope someday Ill meet you in person and shake your hand!

Wanna do some EG33 - L merge?







JK

Ill do it myself and try to record most.
__________________
Selling 04 WRX Parts! <-- Journal...
URAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2011, 08:06 PM   #77
Brydon
2.5L RS-T
 
Fav Mod: IHRTLAG -- License Plate
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vancouver, WA
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 4,129
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by URAL View Post
Brydon, I hope someday Ill meet you in person and shake your hand!

Wanna do some EG33 - L merge?







JK

Ill do it myself and try to record most.
Drive to WCSS (West Coast Subaru Show) this year and we can have a drink and you can drive the L.
__________________
The moral of my story? Listen to the voice of experience.. *cough Brydon* - Skidd
Brydon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 12:46 PM   #78
Zephyr
Wiring Guru
 
Car: 01 RS, 97 Ducati
Fav Mod: V7 STi Spec C Driveline
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: On the Podium w/ a trophy girl
Trader Rating: (3)
Posts: 355
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastfalcon94 View Post
Does anyone here know how the fuel level sensor works? I swapped an 06 engine into my 98. I wired the fuel level wire (brown with white stripe) correctly. My fuel gauge doesn't work. The needle doesn't budge, it's about 1/8" below the empty line. B135 pin 10 on the 06 wrx ecu. I just checked continuity from the ecu plug to the back of the cluster. I also checked continuity to a plug underneath the rear seat. Then it feeds under the car and runs up to where the fuel pump 6 pin plug is, however it doesn't appear to go to this connector. It runs over to towards the driver's side of the car. I poked the wire here and tested continuity to the plug under the seat.

The only strange thing I did, was I used the 06 wrx fuel pump assembly. I had to take the little plastic box off the bottom of it, but the rest dropped right in. It has the metal wire arm with blackbox. I always thought this was the sensor... But if the brown/white wire doesn't connect to one of the 6 pins going into the fuel pump, I don't see how it works. I've yet to jack my car up and follow the wire...
The fuel pump assembly is different between the GC and the GD. The fuel level and temp sensors on the GC share the same pin for their ground. On the GD they are two individual circuits.

Z
__________________
Swap God

Last edited by Zephyr; 01-12-2011 at 12:52 PM..
Zephyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 10:07 PM   #79
Pronto
1.8L
 
Car: 2006 Evo MR SE
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kent, WA
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 5
Default

Haha wish I could pay you to do the wiring for my ej257/dash swap into my 01rs.
Pronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:47 PM   #80
Dori Ninja
2.7L
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Green Bay WI
Trader Rating: (0)
Posts: 312
Default

has anyone done this with out pulling the RS hanress from the car??? i was thinking of just pullin the seat out plopin on the floor and goin to work with out pullin the dash and whole harness out...how much more of a pita will it be doin it like that???
__________________
00 RS coupe-EJ255+|08 CBR 600rr(Strt)|08 CBR600rr (trk)|01 SV650(Trk)
Dori Ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright © 2019 VerticalScope Inc.
Designed & Powered by Domain Architect